Marriage Licenses

Applying for Marriage Licenses

Requirements

Marriage Licenses in Connecticut can be obtained in the Town Clerk’s office of the town in which the marriage is taking place for a fee of 50.00 (Cash or Check ONLY).

 

Marriage Laws of Connecticut (Click Here)

When applying for a license in Windsor Locks

  • The ceremony must be taking place in the town of Windsor Locks, CT.
  • Be prepared to answer questions about where you were born, what state or country your parents were born in, your mother’s maiden name, the date, and place of the ceremony, as well as who will be officiating.
  • In order to expedite your request, a copy of the Marriage License application that needs to be completed can be found by CLICKING HERE. You are welcome to bring in the completed form when you come to request your license.
  • Both parties must appear and must provide proper identification such as a driver’s license or passport.
  • If you wish your ceremony to be performed by a Justice of the Peace, you will need to make those arrangements yourselves. For your convenience, please CLICK HERE for a list of Windsor Locks Justices of the Peace.

 

License to Get Married

If you are planning to marry in Connecticut, you must obtain a marriage license from the vital records office of the town where the marriage will take place.

 

What Are the Eligibility Requirements for Marriage?

Any two persons may marry in Connecticut so long as both parties to the marriage meet Connecticut’s eligibility requirements.

A person is eligible to marry if such person is:

  • Not a party to another marriage, or a legal relationship that provides substantially the same rights, benefits and responsibilities as a marriage, or one of the following exceptions are met:
    • the person is joined in a civil union and such person marries their civil union partner; or
    • the person is joined in another type of legal relationship that is substantially similar to a marriage, and such person marries the partner of such other relationship.
  • At least 18 years old, or the following exception applies:
    • the person is a minor that is at least 16 years old and has received authorization to marry from the probate court judge of the district where the minor resides.
  • Not under the supervision or control of a conservator, or the following exception is met:
    • the person is under the supervision or control of a conservator and such person has received written consent to marry from their conservator.
  • Not prohibited from marrying pursuant to section C.G.S. § 46b-21.  C.G.S. § 46-21 prohibits persons from marrying their parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, parent’s sibling, sibling’s child, stepparent or stepchild.

 

What Do I Need To Do To Get A Marriage License?

To apply for a marriage license, you and your spouse-to-be must appear in person at the local vital records office of the town where your marriage will occur. The marriage license is issued to ensure that you and your spouse-to-be are eligible to be married.

You will need to complete the marriage license application, provide identification and make a sworn statement that the information that you provide is true. You no longer need to have a blood test to obtain a marriage license in Connecticut.

Following the ceremony, the marriage officiator will submit the license to the registrar of vital records of the town where the marriage took place. The license will be filed in the official marriage records of Connecticut. Once registered, the marriage license becomes a vital record and is referred to as a marriage certificate.

 

Who is Eligible to Perform Marriages in Connecticut?

  • Judges and retired judges, including federal judges and judges of other states;
  • Family support magistrates, family support referees, state referees and justices of the peace who are appointed in Connecticut; and
  • Ordained or licensed members of the clergy, including persons who have been ordained through online ministries and who are given the authority to officiate marriages through such ministries.

 

Changing your Name?

If you decide to change your name after you are married, you will need to report the name change to:

  • Social Security Administration (SSA website)
  • Your State's DMV (CT DMV)
  • Passport (U.S. Passport Services website)
  • Financial Institutions
  • Credit Card Companies
  • Insurance Companies – car, health and life
  • Your employer – usually within 30 days
  • Retirement Accounts
  • Voter Registration
  • Post Office
  • Any other organization you may think of!